5 Capricci (First Edition)
Piano Solo
Piano Solo - Sheet Music

Item Number: 3764792
5 out of 5 Customer Rating
In Stock
  • Ships in 24 hours
See more offers for this item

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Item Types
Piano solo (Piano solo) - SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

SKU: HL.51480227

Piano Solo. Composed by Joseph Anton Steffan. Edited by Alexander Weinmann. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Pages: 62. Classical. Softcover. 62 pages. G. Henle #HN227. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480227).

ISBN 9790201802275. UPC: 884088174255. 9.25x12.25x0.184 inches.

On hearing Joseph Anton Steffan's (1726-1797) numerous songs or piano works, he can immediately be identified as an original precursor of Romanticism. His harmonically refined “Capricci” – whose tempi and meter often change – are particularly attractive, although to date they have lain around in archives in manuscript form. We have dug up these treasures and are offering a first edition of the five Capricci with excellent Henle engraving and with a short introductory preface.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

About SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

Very advanced level, very difficult note reading, frequent time signature changes, virtuosic level technical facility needed.

  • 5 Capricci (first edition) (Piano solo)