World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Encore!, Book 1

Standard Literature that Motivates

Solo piano - SMP Level 7 (Late Intermediate)
Book 1. Standard Literature that Motivates. Edited by Jane Magrath. Graded Standard Repertoire; Masterworks; Piano Collection. Encore! Classical and Instructional. Collection. With standard notation, fingerings and introductory text (does not include words to the songs). 64 pages. Alfred Music #00-301. Published by Alfred Music (AP.301).

Item Number: AP.301

ISBN 9780739016015. 9x12 inches. English.

Encore Book 1 contains 22 pieces of intermediate to late-intermediate literature-perfect for students who have completed their method book studies and are preparing to perform more advanced repertoire. Includes music from the Baroque, Classical, Romantic and Contemporary eras, and editor's commentary.

This title has selections that range in difficulty from SMP Level 6-7.

About Encore!

Encore! Correlates page for page with Best In Class, Book 1, beginning with page 10. Encore!, in effect, doubles the size of Best In Class Book 1. It provides you with more exercises, solos, duets, and full band arrangements. Use Encore! with Best In Class Book 1, or for home practice, summer classes, or for review before beginning Best In Class Book 2.

About SMP Level 7 (Late Intermediate)

4 to 5-note chords in both hands and scales in octaves in both hands.

  • Sonata in d Minor, K. 90d  Composed by Alessandro Scarlatti
  • Sonata in G Major, K. 431  Composed by Alessandro Scarlatti
  • Air in G Major (from Suite XIV)  Composed by George Frideric Handel
  • Sonata in G Major  Composed by Domenico Cimarosa
  • Sonatina in C Major, Op. 55, No. 1  Composed by Friedrich Kuhlau
  • Sonatina in D Major, Op. 36, No. 6  Composed by Muzio Clementi
  • Six Ecossaises, WoO 83  Composed by Ludwig Van Beethoven
  • Song Without Words ("Faith"), Op. 102, No. 6  Composed by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn
  • The Boy's Round Dance, Op. 36, No. 2  Composed by Niels Vilhelm Gade
  • To Julie (from Sonata for the Young), Op. 118a  Composed by Robert Schumann
  • Mignon, Op. 68, No. 35  Composed by Robert Schumann
  • Fantasy Dance, Op. 124, No. 5  Composed by Robert Schumann
  • Prelude in B Minor, Op. 28, No. 6  Composed by Frederic Chopin
  • Mazurka in F Major, Op. 68, No. 3 (Posthumous)  Composed by Frederic Chopin
  • Mazurka in A Minor, Op. 67, No. 4 (Posthumous)  Composed by Frederic Chopin
  • Berceuse, Op. 109, No. 7  Composed by Johann Friedrich Burgmuller
  • Velocity, Op. 109, No. 10  Composed by Johann Friedrich Burgmuller
  • Third Gymnopedie  Composed by Erik Satie
  • Bagatelle, Op. 5, No. 1  Composed by Alexander Tcherepnin
  • A Warlike Dance, Op. 27  Composed by Dmitri Kabalevsky
  • Little Leopard on the Swing (from Children's Album, Book II)  Composed by Aram Ilyich Khachaturian
  • Two Ladies Gossiping (from Children's Album, Book II)  Composed by Aram Ilyich Khachaturian

Buy Together




We recommend purchasing
Encore!, Book 1
Sonatina Album

Buy both for $26.98

[ { "catalogRefId":"3507068", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"3505874", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Kevin C
    Nazareth PA
    Difficulty Level:
  • June 19, 2018 Fantastic Literature

    This 3 book series was the original sequel to Masterwork Classics 6. These books cover levels 7-9. But few people realized this, so Alfred released Masterwork Classics 7-10 instead. I like the selections in Encore better than those in MC. But it’s nice to have a choice...

    . Good features:Good editingDouble romantic period selectionsPieces that build on prior piecesInteresting music that students like.

    Read More
    One person found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 2

    Emily Schultz
    Madison, WI
    Difficulty Level:
    Early intermediate
  • March 21, 2015 Lacking in accuracy

    This pieces are well-chosen for this collection, but the details on the pieces are lacking or completely wrong in some cases. The Cimarosa Sonata is actually a third movement (R.14), which would be helpful to know. The Kabalevsky song is Op. 27, No. 19, not Op. 27, No...

    . 27. Also, the translations of titles to English are not as accurate as they could be. The newer compilations at the same difficulty level include a CD or digital downloads of the songs; here, you have to buy it separately for $10.95. This book is not worth the money; just buy The Festival Collection or Piano Literature series from FJH and Hal Leonard for something more complete and accurate, and including recordings, for approximately the same price.

    Read More
    5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 4

    Alexandria, VA
    Difficulty Level:
    Early intermediate
  • December 22, 2012 Great Variety of Pieces for Solos

    With all the variety of solos included, one can learn to play many different styles of pieces.

    5 of 10 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.