Piano Sonata in E Flat Major Hob.XVI:49
Piano Solo
by Franz Joseph Haydn
Piano Solo - Sheet Music

Item Number: 3766070
5 out of 5 Customer Rating

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Item Types
Musical Forms
Piano solo (Piano solo) - SMP Level 9 (Advanced)

SKU: HL.51480359

Piano Solo. Composed by Franz Joseph Haydn. Edited by Georg Feder. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Pages: 17. Classical. Softcover. 18 pages. G. Henle #HN359. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480359).

ISBN 9790201803593. UPC: 884088175535. 9.25x12.25 inches.

The Sonata in E flat major Hob. XVI:49 is one of the masterpieces among Joseph Haydn's sixty-or-so piano sonatas. It epitomizes the Haydn sonata-type par excellence, with inner serenity and clarity, measured sobriety and – having regard to its large and richly structured and opening movement – perfect form. For all that, Haydn did not neglect his feeling for individual special touches, seen here in the last movement, a graceful minuet in rococo style. The distinguished Haydn researcher Georg Feder has edited this Urtext edition; the fingerings by piano pedagogue Hans-Martin Theopold make it particularly valuable.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

About SMP Level 9 (Advanced)

All types of major, minor, diminished, and augmented chords spanning more than an octave. Extensive scale passages.

  • Piano sonata, E flat major, Hob. XVI:49 (Piano solo)