1. X. 1905 for Piano 'Sonata'
by Leos Janacek
Piano Solo - Sheet Music

Item Number: 7463269
4.4 out of 5 Customer Rating
In Stock
  • Ships in 24 hours

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Item Types
Musical Forms

SKU: BA.BA09501

Composed by Leos Janacek. Edited by Jarmil Burghauser and Ludvík Kundera. This edition: urtext edition. Stapled. Barenreiter Urtext. Performance score. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA09501. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09501).

ISBN 9790260103641. 31 x 24.3 cm inches.

Usually referred to as a sonata, 1. X. 1905 is Janacek’s most significant piece for the piano.

The work had a tumultuous history. It originally consisted of three movements inspired by the death of a Czech labourer shot by soldiers during a demonstration in Brno . Shortly after its première in 1906 Janacek destroyed the final movement and then, following a private performance in Prague , the other two movements as well. It was not until the celebrations for his 70th birthday that the pianist of the première found the courage to play the piece to the composer once again from her personal copy. Janacek then decided to publish the work after all. The musical text is based on the Complete Scholarly-Critical Edition of the Works of Leos Janacek and has been given practical fingering suggestions.

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding