World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


The Eric Dolphy Collection

Artist Transcriptions - Woodwinds

By Eric Dolphy

Flute, Saxophone - Difficulty: medium
Artist Transcriptions - Woodwinds. By Eric Dolphy. Hal Leonard Artist Transcriptions. Jazz. Woodwind solo book. 149 pages. Published by Hal Leonard (HL.672379).

Item Number: HL.672379

ISBN 9780793586370. 9x12 inches. Artist Transcriptions.

Note-for-note transcriptions for flute and alto sax of this innovative avant-garde instrumentalist's playing on 15 top standards: April Fool * Bemoanable Lady * Beyond the Blue Horizon * Glad to Be Unhappy * God Bless' the Child * G.W. * Like Someone in Love * Serene * Softly as in a Morning Sunrise * more.

About Hal Leonard Artist Transcriptions

Artist Transcriptions are authentic, note-for-note transcriptions of the hottest wind, electronic, guitar and keyboard artists. These outstanding, accurate arrangements are in an easy-to-read format which includes all essential lines. Artist Transcriptions can be used to perform, sequence or reference.

  • Tenderly  Composed by Jack Lawrence, Walter Gross
  • Beyond The Blue Horizon  Composed by Richard Whiting, Leo Robin
  • Glad To Be Unhappy  Composed by Rodgers And Hart
  • God Bless' The Child  Composed by Billie Holiday, Arthur Herzog
  • Like Someone In Love  Composed by Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen
  • Softly As In A Morning Sunrise  Composed by Oscar Hammerstein II, Sigmund Romberg
  • Stormy Weather (Keeps Rainin' All the Time)  Composed by Harold Arlen, Ted Koehler
  • The Way You Look Tonight  Composed by Dorothy Fields, Jerome Kern
  • You Don't Know What Love Is  Composed by Don Raye, Gene DePaul
  • Woodyn' You  Composed by Dizzy Gillespie
  • 245  Composed by Eric Dolphy
  • Serene  Composed by Eric Dolphy
  • April Fool  Composed by Eric Dolphy
  • Bemoanable Lady  Composed by Charles Mingus
  • G.W.  Composed by Eric Dolphy

Buy Together




Buy both for $39.94

[ { "catalogRefId":"4910890", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"20074878", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 3

    Difficulty Level:
  • January 31, 2015 is this in Eflat for alto sax?

    Or is it just in C?

    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 4

    Paul Cutlan
    Sydney, Australia
    Difficulty Level:
  • October 06, 2006 Amazing detail - a few mistakes

    The people who transcribed these solos did a fantastic job in terms of pitch and rhythmic detail. The mucial layout is clear and beautifully notated. That makes it baffling that a few basic errors exist (usually pitch)in many of the transcriptions. Anyone who has listened much to Dolphy or...

    tried to transcribe the solos would still find this volume invaluable and be able to spot the anomalies, then make pencil notes on the music. This is definitely a volume worth editing and correcting in a later edition. My only other criticism is that the volume doesn't say which recordings the solos are taken from - only the original copyright holders of the songs are acknowledged. Given that Dolphy recorded most of these songs more than once on different albums, it would be handy to have this information included.

    Read More
    30 of 57 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.