World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Piano Sonatas - Volume III (Early and Unfinished Sonatas)
Piano Solo Study Score
By Franz Schubert

Be the first! Write a Review

Piano solo (Piano solo) - SMP Level 10 (Advanced)
Piano Solo Study Score. Composed by Franz Schubert (1797-1828). Edited by Paul Badura-Skoda. Study Score. Paperbound. Henle Study Scores. Pages: X and 248. Classical. Study score (paperbound). 260 pages. G. Henle #HN9150. Published by G. Henle (HL.51489150).

Item Number: HL.51489150

ISBN 9790201891507. 6.75x9.5 inches.

Schubert's 22 piano sonatas sketch a most illuminating picture of the prematurely departed composer and of his compositional path. From the first attempts of the gifted 16- to 19-year-old musician one can trace a continuous development leading to the five great sonatas which he wrote in the years 1823 and 1826, and finally to the three masterworks written shortly before his death, which place him on a level with Beethoven as a composer of sonatas.

The intensity with which Schubert approached the genre of the piano sonata meant that he left a large number of piano sonatas incomplete. Volume III of the three-part Henle Urtext edition contains – next to the early sonatas from the years 1815-1818 – the fragments completed by Paul Badura-Skoda, whose completions are highlighted each time by small cue notes. The Critical Report in the Appendix also provides precise information about the genesis of the individual works.

About SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

Very advanced level, very difficult note reading, frequent time signature changes, virtuosic level technical facility needed.

  • Schubert: Sonata A flat major D 557 
  • Schubert: Sonata f sharp minor D 571/604/570 
  • Schubert: Early version D 277 A of the Sonata C major D 279, 3rd movement 
  • Schubert: Early version D 154 of the Sonata E major D 157, 1st movement 
  • Schubert: Critical commentary 
  • Schubert: Fragment e minor D 769 (994) 
  • Schubert: Fragment c sharp minor D 655 
  • Schubert: Sonata f minor D 625/505 
  • Schubert: Sonata e minor D 566/506 
  • Schubert: Sonata (5 Piano Pieces) E major D 459 
  • Schubert: Sonata E major D 157 
  • Schubert: Sonata D flat major D 567 
  • Schubert: Sonata (relic) C major D 840 
  • Schubert: Sonata C major D 279/346 
  • Schubert: Sonata C major D 613/ 612 

Buy Together




Buy both for $55.94

[ { "catalogRefId":"3770648", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"20272208", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.