Works for Organ – Revised Edition
by Johannes Brahms
Organ - Sheet Music

Item Number: 20472377
5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Price reduced from $30.95 to $27.85
In Stock
  • Ships in 24 hours

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Piano Organ

SKU: HL.51481368

Composed by Johannes Brahms. Edited by George S. Bozarth. Sheet music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Revised edition of HN 400. Classical. Softcover. 90 pages. G. Henle #HN1368. Published by G. Henle (HL.51481368).

ISBN 9790201813684. UPC: 888680716387. 12.25x9.25x0.3 inches.

Johannes Brahms' organ works in a sense “frame” his whole oeuvre. He wrote several preludes and fugues and the chorale prelude “O Traurigkeit, o Herzeleid” in the mid-1850s, at a time when he was making an intensive study of counterpoint. The Eleven Chorale Preludes, Op. 122, on the other hand, are Brahms' final work, composed in 1896, immediately before and after the death of Clara Schumann. This revised Henle Urtext edition presents all of Brahms' organ works in a single volume, following the musical text of the New Brahms Complete Edition, and with a preface and a commentary that reflect the latest scholarship. The early versions of two of these pieces are also given in an appendix.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)