The Marriage Of Figaro, K. 492
Opera Buffa In Four Acts
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Mixed Choir - Sheet Music

Item Number: 2435228
5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Order On Demand
  • Ships in 1 to 2 weeks
See more offers for this item

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

5 soprano voices, 2 tenor voices, 4 bass voices, mixed chorus and piano accompaniment (5Soprano Voice Solo, 2 Tenor Voice Solo, 4Bass Voice Solo, Mixed choir, Orch) - Difficulty: medium-difficult to difficult

SKU: BA.BA04565-92

Opera Buffa In Four Acts. Composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Edited by Eugen Epplee and Ludwig Finscher. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Barenreiter Urtext. German translation by Nicolas Brieger and Friedemann Layer. Classical Period. Vocal score. With choral notation, piano reduction and introductory text. K. 492. 537 pages. Duration 3 hours. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA04565-92. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA04565-92).

ISBN 9790006504497. 8x11 inches. Text Language: German, Italian. Preface: Ulrich Leisinger. Lorenzo Da Ponte.

Premiered at the Vienna Hoftheater on 1 May 1786, Wolfang Amadeus Mozart's and Lorenzo Da Ponte's Le nozze di Figaro may be safely regarded as one of the greatest operatic successes of all times. Yet its success was not entirely due to Mozart's music: on the contrary, because of the extraordinary demands it placed on the orchestra (especially the woodwinds), the music even posed an obstacle to the work's spread outside the German-speaking countries. At least equally responsible for the opera's success was the librettist Lorenzo Da Ponte, who managed to transform a topical and socio-critical stage play into an opera libretto as effective as it is amusing.

This vocal score is based on Ludwig Finscher's 1973 edition of 'Le nozze di Figaro' published in the 'New Mozart Edition' and the critical commentary by Ulrich Leisinger published in 2007.

Many of the sources for Mozart's first opera from the Lorenzo Da Ponte trilogy only became available to scholars again after the 'New Mozart Edition volume was published. These include the autograph scores of acts 3 and 4, now held at the Biblioteka Jagiello ka in Krakow, significant portions of the original sets of parts and acts 2 to 4 of the conductor's copy from the first performance of 1786.

These original sources, now available again, offer compelling solutions to several previously unresolved questions.

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding