Piano Sonata A Minor Op. Posth. 164 D 537
Piano Solo
by Franz Schubert
Piano Solo - Sheet Music

Item Number: 3768595
5 out of 5 Customer Rating
In Stock
  • Ships in 24 hours
See more offers for this item

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Piano solo (Piano solo) - SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

SKU: HL.51480697

Piano Solo. Composed by Franz Schubert. Edited by Paul Mies. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. ABRSM syllabus Grade: 8. Classical. Softcover. 20 pages. G. Henle #HN697. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480697).

ISBN 9790201806976. UPC: 884088178147. 9.25x12.25x0.078 inches.

Franz Schubert's Piano Sonata in A minor op. post. 164, presented here in an Urtext edition, numbers among his early sonatas written between 1815 and 1819. In many of these pieces, Schubert still struggles with form; the Sonata in A minor from March 1817, however, is already wonderfully accomplished. In contrast to Schubert's two later A minor piano sonatas, the key here does not yet result in a tragic, fatalistic sound. This is also due to the fact that he took every opportunity to brighten the key to the major, or to swerve into neighboring, friendlier harmonic regions.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

About SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

Very advanced level, very difficult note reading, frequent time signature changes, virtuosic level technical facility needed.

  • Piano sonata, A minor, op. post. 164 D 537 (Piano solo)