Organ Pieces
by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn
Organ - Sheet Music

Item Number: 3766735
4.4 out of 5 Customer Rating

Organ Pieces
by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn
Organ - Sheet Music

Item Number: 3766735
4.4 out of 5 Customer Rating
  • Ready to ship in 24 hours

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Piano Organ

SKU: HL.51480426

Composed by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn. Edited by Wolfgang Stockmeier. Arranged by Wolfgang Stockmeier. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Pages: V and 78. Classical. Softcover. 84 pages. G. Henle #HN426. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480426).

ISBN 9790201804262. UPC: 884088176198. 9.25x12.25x0.273 inches.

Apart from his organ sonatas, Felix Mendelssohn also composed numerous other works for the king of instruments. The present volume focuses on a selection of eight works from Mendelssohn's maturity, including the three “Preludes and Fugues”, op. 37. This group of works is, without exaggeration, one of the first important organ works of the 19th century, with which Mendelssohn heralded the second era of organ music after the baroque. The editor of this Urtext edition, organ specialist Wolfgang Stockmeier, explains in his extensive preface how Mendelssohn based his polyphonic works for keyboard instruments on Handel's, rather than on Bach's, compositional technique.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Three Preludes and Fugues op. 37
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Andante D major
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Fuga e minor
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Fuga f minor
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Prelude c minor
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Allegro B flat major
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Fughetta A major
  • Mendelssohn Bartholdy: Postlude D major