Makrokosmos, Volume 1
12 Fantasy-Pieces After The Zodiac For Amplified Piano
by George Crumb
Piano - Sheet Music

Item Number: 1041782
5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Order On Demand
  • Ships in 1 to 2 weeks
Unauthorized duplication hurts music creators. Please ensure you purchase the number of copies needed to accommodate all members of your ensemble.

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Item Types
Amplified piano - Difficulty: medium-difficult to difficult

SKU: PE.EP66539A

1. 12 Fantasy-Pieces After The Zodiac For Amplified Piano. Composed by George Crumb. Piano (Solo). Edition Peters. 20th Century. Piano score. With performance notes and introductory text. Composed 1972. 19 pages. Duration 33m. Edition Peters #98-EP66539A. Published by Edition Peters (PE.EP66539A).

ISBN 9790300723815. 14x11 inches. English.

Inspired by the music of Bartók and Debussy, George Crumb's 'Makrokosmos' has become a 20th century classic on its own terms. The score of 'Makrokosmos Volume I' includes the astonishing notational style for which Crumb became famous, including the 'Spiral Galaxy' circular stave. A few lines of Rilke imbue the atmosphere of these 'Fantasy Pieces': And in the nights the heavy earth is falling from all the stars down into loneliness. We are all falling. And yet there is One who holds this falling endlessly gently in his hands.

  • 1. Primeval Sounds - Genesis I
  • 2. Proteus - Pisces
  • 3. Pastorale (From the Kingdom Of Atlantis, ca. 10,000 B.C.) - Taurus
  • 4. Crucifixus [Symbol] - Capricorn
  • 5. The Phantom Gondolier - Scorpio
  • 6. Night-Spell I - Sagittarius
  • 7. Music Of Shadows (For Aeolian Harp) - Libra
  • 8. The Magic Circle Of Infinity (Moto Perpetuo) [Symbol] - Leo
  • 9. The Abyss Of Time - Virgo
  • 10. Spring-Fire - Aries
  • 11. Dream Images (Love-Death Music) - Gemini
  • 12. Spiral Galaxy [Symbol] - Aquarius