Echoes, Pictures, Riddles, and Tales for Piano Solo
Easy Piano - Sheet Music

Item Number: 6726863
5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Order On Demand
  • Ships in 1 to 2 weeks
See more offers for this item

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Piano - Early Intermediate; Elementary; Intermediate; Late Elementary

SKU: AP.98-J1009

Composed by Martin Kutnowski. Edited by Helen Marlais. Piano Collection; Piano Supplemental. The FJH Contemporary Keyboard Editions. Contents include: Arrorro Mi Nino (Sleep, Sleep, My Child), Trumpets, Echo, Marching Ants, Mist, Stubborn and Cranky, Bedtime, Drizzle, Enigma, El Gallo Pinto (The Colorful Rooster), The Sleepy Groundhog, Galloping on the Ranch, Hopscotch (Perfect and Au. Contemporary. Book. The FJH Music Company Inc #98-J1009. Published by The FJH Music Company Inc (AP.98-J1009).

ISBN 9781569394502. UPC: 674398217113. English.

As a young teacher, Martín Kutnowski would compose a specific piece to engage the particular personality or technical difficulties of one of his students. Surprised and amused, the student would make critiques, and the teacher would make improvements. This collection of miniature piano pieces is a living testament to the spontaneity and enthusiasm shared by both students and teacher during those many studio lessons.

About FJH Contemporary Keyboard Editions

The FJH Contemporary Keyboard Editions is a series that focuses on the best contemporary music for keyboard of the late 20th and early 21st centuries. These collected works by some of today's leading art-music composers will expand a student's concept of rhythm, harmony, sound, and texture. While the composers invited to write for this series use a colorful palette of contemporary techniques and textures, they were selected for their strong musical voices, which ensure that the ultimate goal of musical communication is never lost.

Too often, both students and teachers get discouraged with contemporary compositions because of their avant-garde sound. This series addresses that concern by providing excellent music which is both contemporary and intuitively musical. Contemporary performance practices such as depressing keys silently, cluster sounds, pedal effects, knocking on the keyboard, contemporary harmonies, jazz idioms, bitonality, modes, mixed and changing meters, and 12-tone techniques challenge the student to listen for new rhythmic gestures and tonal colors and expand their interpretive capacity.

While expanding students' horizons, this series helps to confirm and reinforce the musical and technical concepts they are learning in their other repertoire. The natural musicality present in each of these pieces demands the same kind of careful attention that we expect from the standard canon of repertoire.

This series is carefully leveled into the following categories: elementary, intermediate, early advanced, and advanced. Each of the works has been selected for its artistic as well as its pedagogical merit.

  • Arrorro Mi Nino (Sleep
  • Sleep
  • My Child)
  • Trumpets
  • Echo
  • Marching Ants
  • Mist
  • Stubborn and Cranky
  • Bedtime
  • Drizzle
  • Enigma
  • El Gallo Pinto (The Colorful Rooster)
  • The Sleepy Groundhog
  • Galloping on the Ranch
  • Hopscotch (Perfect and Augmented Fourths)
  • Tutu Maramba
  • Barcarolla (A Boatman's Song)
  • Sobre el Puente de Avignon (On the Bridge of Avignon)
  • The Haunted Mansion
  • Bumpy Country Road
  • Boogie-woogie
  • Milonga in G minor