Concerto for Piano and Orchestra B Flat Major Op. 19, No. 2
2 Pianos, 4 Hands
by Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Solo - Sheet Music

Item Number: 3766802
5 out of 5 Customer Rating
In Stock
  • Ships in 24 hours
Unauthorized duplication hurts music creators. Please ensure you purchase the number of copies needed to accommodate all members of your ensemble.

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Piano 2 Pianos, 4-hands (2 Pianos, 4-hands) - SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

SKU: HL.51480434

2 Pianos, 4 Hands. Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven. Edited by Hans-Werner Kü and then. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Pages: VIII and 72. Classical. Softcover. 80 pages. G. Henle #HN434. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480434).

ISBN 9790201804347. UPC: 884088176273. 9.25x12.25x0.274 inches.

Ludwig van Beethoven composed his five large piano concertos over a period of twenty-five years. The Second Concerto in B flat major is presented here in a piano reduction. The edition, of our customary Urtext quality, is arranged for practical use and based on the Beethoven Complete Edition, for which Beethoven's autograph served as the source. He probably wrote down a first version of this concerto as early as 1786-92, thus before the Piano Concerto No. 1, but it was not published until a few months after the first one, in December 1801. Beethoven, who regularly performed the B flat major Concerto on his concert tours, made repeated alterations to the work. These changes have left behind fascinating traces, which the editor – Beethoven scholar Hans-Werner Kuthen – discusses in detail in his preface and in the subsequent section “About this edition.”.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

About SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

Very advanced level, very difficult note reading, frequent time signature changes, virtuosic level technical facility needed.

  • Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 2, B flat major, op. 19 (2 pianos, 4-hands)
  • Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No. 2, B flat major, op. 19 (Orchestral works)