Ballades for Piano
Opp. 23, 38, 47, 52; Urtext (The Complete Chopin)
by Frederic Chopin
Piano - Sheet Music

Item Number: 4349987
5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Order On Demand
  • Ships in 1 to 2 weeks

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Item Types

SKU: PE.EP7531

Opp. 23, 38, 47, 52; Urtext (The Complete Chopin). Composed by Frederic Chopin. Edited by Jim Samson. Piano (Solo). The Complete Chopin - A New Critical Edition. Score. Edition Peters #98-EP7531. Published by Edition Peters (PE.EP7531).

ISBN 9790577082585. English.

A new Urtext critical edition of Chopin's Ballades, edited by Jim Samson.

Composed between 1831 and 1842, Chopin's four Ballades are among the most important works in the Romantic piano literature.

The Complete Chopin, 'A New Critical Edition' from Edition Peters is a landmark in the publication of this composer's music. Three of the world's most respected Chopin specialists have been appointed as Series Editors: John Rink, Jim Samson and Jean-Jacques Eigeldinger. With further expertise provided by Christophe Grabowski, the Editorial Consultant, their unrivalled collective knowledge imbues this project with unique authority, drawing upon the latest international scholarship to ensure the stylistic integrity and consistency of the edition.

Key Features include:

  • An introductory essay in English, German and French examining the historical background, compositional features and performance practice issues
  • The identification of, and adherence to, a single principal source
  • A detailed and comprehensive critical commentary
  • Chopin's authentic fingerings only
  • Emphasis placed on retaining expressive features of the original notation
  • Notes on the editorial principles and methodology guiding the whole project.

  • Ballade g-Moll op. 23 -fur Klavier-
  • Ballade F-Dur op. 38 -fur Klavier-
  • Ballade As-Dur op. 47 -fur Klavier-
  • Ballade f-Moll op. 52 -fur Klavier-