World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Trio Sonata and Canon Perpetuus from the musical offering fur Flute, Violin and Basso Continuo BWV 1079 Nr. 8 und 9

By Johann Sebastian Bach

Be the first! Write a Review

Chamber Ensemble Basso Continuo, Flute, Violin (Trio Sonatas)
Composed by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Edited by Hans Eppstein. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Pages: Score = 23 * Vl Part = 8 * Fl Part = 8 * Vc Part = 6. Classical. Softcover. 32 pages. G. Henle #HN294. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480294).

Item Number: HL.51480294

ISBN 9790201802947. 9.25x12.25 inches.

Bach's Trio Sonata for flute, violin and basso continuo from the Musical Offering is probably the pre-eminent trio sonata in music history. When Bach met King Frederick the Great in Potsdam in 1747, the sovereign presented the composer with the celebrated “Royal Theme”, composed by himself. It underpins the entire Musical Offering, which also contains several fugues and canons as well as the Trio Sonata. The Canon perpetuus that follows the Trio can also be played by a trio. The term “perpetuus” here means that the performers themselves are to determine when the canon ends.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

  • Bach: Canon Perpetuus from the Musical Offering for Flute, Violin and Basso Continuo BWV 1079 Nr. 9 
  • Bach: Trio Sonata from the musical offering for Flute, Violin and Basso Continuo BWV 1079 Nr. 8 

Buy Together




Buy both for $45.90

[ { "catalogRefId":"3765442", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"17347747", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.