World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Sonate / Andantino quietoso op. 6 / Melancolie for Piano and Violin

By Cesar Auguste Franck

Be the first! Write a Review

Piano and violin - Level 4
Composed by Cesar Auguste Franck (1822-1890). Edited by Douglas Woodfull-Harris. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. With an introduction by Gudula Schutz. Score and part. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09425).

Item Number: BA.BA09425

ISBN 9790006559169. 31 x 24.3 cm inches. Language: German/English/French. Preface: Gudula Schutz.

Cesar Franck's Sonata for Piano and Violin is one of the most treasured works in the violin repertoire, a masterpiece of cyclic form with a gracefulness and expressive force almost paradigmatic for the age of musical Romanticism. This work was composed in 1886 and was dedicated to the Belgian violinist and composer Eugene Ysaye.

Barenreiter's new edition also includes two short separate movements for the same instrumentation: the early Andantino quietoso op. 6 (1843), a hauntingly beautiful piece composed for performances with Franck's violinist brother Joseph, as well as Melancolie, first published after Franck's death in 1911. This second piece is based on a solfege exercise and written at the height of the composer's creative powers, at about the same time as his famous violin sonata.

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- A Critical Commentary explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.