World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Six Sonatas for Violin and Harpsichord obbligato BWV 1014-1019
6 Sonaten fur Violine und obligates Cembalo
By Johann Sebastian Bach

Violin, harpsichord, basso continuo
6 Sonaten fur Violine und obligates Cembalo. Composed by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Edited by Andrew Manze and Peter Wollny. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Barenreiter Urtext. 6 Sonaten fur Violine und obligates Cembalo. Score, Set of parts, anthology. BWV 1014-1019. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA05240. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA05240).

Item Number: BA.BA05240

ISBN 9790006524235. 31 x 24.3 cm inches.

Bach’s six sonatas for violin and obbligato harpsichord (BWV 1014-1019) form a unified cycle. Each has its own profile and places its own demands on the player.

This new edition is largely based on Bach’s “definitive version” as captured in the manuscript copy prepared by Johann Christoph Altnickol . However, as this source is not absolutely secure with regard to dynamics, articulation, ornamentation and titles, the editor has also drawn on earlier copies prepared by Johann Friedrich Agricola and Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach.

Substantive departures from the Altnickol MS appear on ossia staves; a list of alternative readings allows readers to trace the provenance of each reading. Sonatas BWV 1018 and 1019 are accompanied by early versions illustrating the various stages that these works passed through.

Peter Wollny’s detailed preface explains the sonatas’ significance to the history of their genre and provides a rich commentary on the transmission and evaluation of the sources. Rounding off this Urtext edition is a violin part marked up for performance purposes by Andrew Manze . Here the reader will find fingerings and recommended ornaments as well as notes on performance practice.

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Spring Valley, NY
    Difficulty Level:
  • July 11, 2011 Bach sonatas for violin and harpsichord

    These sonatas are the first to be written for violin and keyboard in which the keyboard part is written out for both hands, rather than figured bass. As such, most of the movements are in three independent parts, making it challenging for the keyboard player. This edition is based on...

    the latest scholarship. There are two violin parts, one without and one with fingering and bowing. There is also a part for viola da gamba, although this is not required. The print is large and easy to read. This is probably the best edition of these important works.

    Read More
    17 of 29 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.