World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Schumann & Mendelssohn: Piano Concertos

By Ingrid Fliter; Scottish Chamber Orchestra; Antonio Mendez

Be the first! Write a Review

By Ingrid Fliter; Scottish Chamber Orchestra; Antonio Mendez. By Felix Mendelssohn; Robert Schumann. Country of Origin: United Kingdom. Classical. Hybrid super audio listening CD. Published by Linn Records (NX.CKD555).

Item Number: NX.CKD555

Ingrid Fliter is set to thrill her fans with a new recording of piano concertos; eagerly awaited since her acclaimed recording of Chopin 1 & 2, which saw Fliter nominated for a Gramophone Award. Fliter performs repertoire that is very close to her heart: concertos by two nineteenth century heavyweights, Schumann and Mendelssohn. Fliter brings the lyrical romanticism of Schumann's iconic Piano Concerto to life whilst perfectly navigating the shifting colors and technical demands of this brilliant showpiece. The sparkling passagework and charming melodies which characterise Mendelssohn's innovative G minor concerto demonstrate Fliter's innate skill and pianistic instinct. Following Fliter's live performance of the Mendelssohn concerto one critic wrote: 'In the beautiful second movement, time stood still.' With both composers giving equal focus to soloist and orchestra, the musicality of the SCO's award-winning musicians shines through as they partner Fliter perfectly. This also marks the recording debut of Antonio Mendez, who is fast becoming one of the most exciting conductors of his generation following engagements with a host of international orchestras. Ingrid Fliter first sprang to international attention when she was awarded the 2006 Gilmore Artist Award, one of only a handful of pianists to have received this honour. A graceful and charismatic performer, Fliter is well-known for her thoughtful and sensitive music-making and effortless technique. Her enthusiasm on stage is always infectious, and every performance is deeply personal and full of charm and poetry. Ingrid Fliter divides her time between Europe and the USA, where she works with orchestras such as the Cleveland Orchestra, Minnesota Orchestra, National Symphony Orchestra, LA Philharmonic, SFS Orchestra and Toronto Symphony Orchestra. The SCO is a world-renowned orchestra; its extensive series of Linn recordings feature Robin Ticciati and Sir Charles Mackerras.

About Listening CDs

Listening CDs are traditional music recordings. Listening CDs make a great educational supplement - hear exceptional professionals play the music you're learning! Or, just enjoy listening to the music you love.

  • Piano Concerto in A Minor, Op.54  Composed by Robert Schumann
  • 01. Allegro affettuoso 
  • 02. Intermezzo 
  • 03. Allegro vivace 
  • 04. The Fair Melusina: Overture, Op. 32  Composed by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn
  • Piano Concerto No. 1 in G Minor, Op. 25  Composed by Felix Bartholdy Mendelssohn
  • 05. Molto allegro con fuoco 
  • 06. Andante 
  • 07. Presto - Molto allegro e vivace 
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.