World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Sacred Sounds from George Shearing For Organ

By George Shearing

Organ: 3-staff - Intermediate
Composed by George Shearing. Sacred. Sacred Music Press #KK229. Published by Sacred Music Press (LO.KK229).

Item Number: LO.KK229

George Shearing was one of the most well-known jazz pianists of his era. As a composer, he is known for his hundreds of popular titles, including the jazz standard "Lullaby of Birdland." In the late 1970s, Shearing produced his only foray into classical church music, this volume of organ pieces (also available in a piano edition, KK228). Shearing's appealing jazz-inflected idiom makes for distinctive and memorable treatments of classic American hymn tunes. Shearing collaborated closely with Dale Wood in creating the details of these idiomatic organ arrangements.

  • Amazing Grace! How Sweet The Sound 
  • (New Britain) 
  • Come Away To The Skies 
  • (Middlebury) 
  • Come, Ye Sinners, Poor And Needy 
  • (Restoration) 
  • I Know That My Redeemer Lives 
  • (Antioch) 
  • I Love Thee, My Lord 
  • (I Love Thee) 
  • Jerusalem, My Happy Home 
  • (Land of Rest) 
  • Once More,My Soul 
  • (Consolation) 
  • So Fades the Lovely Blooming Flower 
  • (Distress) 
  • There Is a Happy Land 
  • (Happy Land) 
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    San Francisco, CA
    Difficulty Level:
    Early intermediate
  • March 31, 2009 Sacred Sounds from George Shearing

    Music from this book was played at an organ dedication service and I liked it so much I had to order a copy. The music is rather easy to play. The registration is something to work on for each piece. It's a great change in music from the norm...

    for church music, but still usable for service music.

    Read More
    30 of 51 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.