World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Pop Showcase for Strings (For Solo or String Orchestra)


By Jack Bullock

Be the first! Write a Review

Orchestra Cello
Cello. Arranged by Jack Bullock. Collections; Performance Music Ensemble; String Orchestra Collection. Pop. Book. 16 pages. Alfred Music #00-0602B. Published by Alfred Music (AP.0602B).

Item Number: AP.0602B

ISBN 9780757981487. English.

Pop Showcase for Strings, for solo or string orchestra, is a collection of 13 popular songs that can be played as a solo with piano or CD accompaniment, or with a string orchestra with or without the CD or piano.
Each selection is presented in two arrangements, a solo and a complete string orchestra piece. The solo section is written so that it can be played as a solo or in unison (or octaves) together by any ensemble, including the entire orchestra, with or without piano accompaniment. The arrangement for string orchestra that follows uses the same rhythms and melodic lines included in the solo section. The first song can be played after the first six notes are learned in any string method and the pieces progress to about a level two.
These arrangements are excellent supplements for enhancing any student's knowledge of popular music from the 20th century and are great concert material.
Titles are: Augie's Great Municipal Band * Eye of the Tiger * Blue Tango * All I Want for Christmas Is My Two Front Teeth * Theme from Ice Castles (Through the Eyes of Love) * (Meet) the Flintstones * The Rose * This Is It! * I'm Walkin' * Merrily We Roll Along * Animaniacs * Star Wars (Main Theme) * Theme from Superman.

  • The Rose  Composed by Amanda McBroom
  • I'm Walkin'  Composed by Dave Bartholomew,Antoine Domino
  • Merrily We Roll Along  Composed by Eddie Cantor,Charles Tobias,Murray Mencher
  • Eye of the Tiger  Composed by Jim Peterik,Frankie Sullivan III
  • All I Want for Christmas is My Two Front Teeth  Composed by Donald Gardner
  • Animaniacs (Main Title)  Additional credits Tom Ruegger,Richard Stone
  • Augie's Great Municipal Band And End Credits  Additional credits John Williams
  • Blue Tango (Vocal)  Composed by Leroy Anderson;Lyrics by Mitchell Parish
  • Star Wars (Main Theme)  Composed by John Williams
  • Theme from "Ice Castles" (Through the Eyes of Love)  Composed by Marvin Hamlisch;Lyrics by Carole Bayer Sager
  • Theme from "Superman"  Composed by John Williams
  • This Is It!  Composed by Jerry Livingston;Lyrics by Mack David
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.