World's Largest Sheet Music Selection



A sacred oratorio

By George Frideric Handel

Be the first! Write a Review

A sacred oratorio. Composed by George Frideric Handel (1685-1759). Edited by Watkins Shaw. This edition: Hardback Cloth Edition. Novello Handel Edition. Baroque, Sacred, Choral, Religious, Christmas. Vocal Score (hardcover). Novello & Co Ltd. #MUSNOV070137-01. Published by Novello & Co Ltd. (HL.14021325).

Item Number: HL.14021325

7.75x11 inches.

A sacred oratorio arranged for SATB with Piano arrangement of Orchestral score.
Edited, and the orchestral accompaniment arranged for performance with organ or for piano rehearsal, by Watkins Shaw.

Hardback Cloth Edition.

  • Part One 
  • Sinfonia (Overture) 
  • Comfort ye my people - Recitative 
  • Ev'ry valley shall be exalted - Air 
  • And the glory of the Lord - Chorus 
  • Thus saith the Lord - Recitative 
  • But who may abide the day of his coming? (Version I) - Air for Alto 
  • But who may abide the day of his coming (Version II) - Transposed for Soprano 
  • And he shall purify - Chorus 
  • Behold, a virgin shall conceive - Recitative 
  • O thou that tellest good tidings to Zion - Air and Chorus 
  • For behold, darkness shall cover the earth - Recitative 
  • The people that walked in darkness - Air 
  • For unto us a child is born - Chorus 
  • Pifa ('Pastoral Symphony') 
  • There were shepherds abiding in the field - Recitative 
  • And lo, the angel of the Lord came upon them - Recitative 
  • And the angel said until them - Recitative 
  • And suddenly there was with the angel - Recitative 
  • Glory to God - Chorus 
  • Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion (Version I) - Air (4/4) 
  • Then shall the eyes of the blind - Recitative 
  • He shall feed his flock (Version I) - Air for Soprano 
  • He shall feed his flock (Version II) - Transposed for Alto and Soprano 
  • His yoke is easy, and his burthen is light - Chorus 

  • Part Two 
  • Behold the Lamb of God - Chorus 
  • He was despised - Air 
  • Surely he hath borne our griefs - Chorus 
  • And with his stripes we are healed - Chorus 
  • All we like sheep have gone astray - Chorus 
  • All they that see him laugh him to scorn - Recitative 
  • He trusted in God - Chorus 
  • Thy rebuke hath broken his heart - Recitative 
  • Behold, and see if there be any sorrow - Air 
  • He was cut off out of the land of the living - Recitative 
  • But thou didst not leave his soul in hell - Air 
  • Lift up your heads, O ye gates - Chorus 
  • Unto which of the angelsl said he at any time - Recitative 
  • Let all the angels of God worship him - Chorus 
  • Thou art gone up on high (Version I) - Air for Alto 
  • Thou art gone up on high (Version II) - Transposed for Soprano 
  • The Lord gave the word - Chorus 
  • How beautiful are the feet (Version I) - Air 
  • Their sound is gone out (Version I) - Chorus 
  • Why do the nations so furiously rage together (Version I) - Air 
  • Why do the nations so furiously rage together (Version II) - Air and Recitative 
  • Let us break their bonds asunder - Chorus 
  • He that dwelleth in heaven - Recitative 
  • Thou shalt break them - Air 
  • Hallelujah - Chorus 

  • Part Three 
  • I know that my redeemer liveth - Air 
  • Since by man came death - Chorus 
  • Behold, I tell you a mystery - Recitative 
  • The trumpet shall sound - Air 
  • Then shall be brought to pass - Recitative 
  • O death, where is thy sting? - Duet, Alto and Tenor 
  • But thanks be to God - Chorus 
  • If God be for us (Version I) - Air for Soprano 
  • If God be for us (Version II) - Transposed for Alto 
  • Worthy is the lamb that was slain - Chorus 

  • Appendix 
  • Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion (Version II) - Air (12/8) 
  • Thou art gone up on high (Version III) - Air for Bass 
  • How beautiful are the feet (Version II) - Air for Alto 
  • How beautiful are the feet...Break forth into joy - Duet and Chorus 
  • Their sound is gone out (Version II) - Air 

Buy Together


20% off


20% off
We recommend purchasing

Buy both for $55.99

[ { "catalogRefId":"5880563", "quantity":"1" }, { "catalogRefId":"19884253", "quantity":"1" } ]
AddtoCart Print
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.