World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Einojuhani Rautavaara: Rubaiyat - Balada - Canto V - 4 Songs from the Opera "Rasputin"

By Gerald Finley; Mika Pohjonen; Helsinki Music Centre Choir; Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra; John Storgards

Be the first! Write a Review

By Gerald Finley; Mika Pohjonen; Helsinki Music Centre Choir; Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra; John Storgards. By Einojuhani Rautavaara (1928-). Country of Origin: Finland. Classical. Listening CD. Published by Ondine (NX.ODE-1274-2).

Item Number: NX.ODE-1274-2

This recording includes the world premiere recordings of four works by the celebrated Finnish contemporary composer Einojuhani Rautavaara (b. 1928). Rubaiyat (2015) is a song cycle based on the poetry of Omar Khayyam. The work was written for Gerald Finley who in this recording sings the solo part of the orchestral version of the work. Balada (2014), based on texts by Lorca, is a large-scale work for tenor, choir and orchestra. Tenor Mika Pohjonen sings as the soloist. This cantata was premiered in Madrid in May 2015. Into the Heart of Light (Canto V; 2012) is the composer's latest installment in a series of works for string orchestra that share the title Canto. Rautavaara wrote his first Canto in the 1960s and each piece in the series have represented well the latest stylistic developments by the composer. This recording concludes with four dramatic songs from the opera Rasputin that were arranged by the composer for mixed choir and orchestra in 2012. In the last two decades the Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, conducted here by John Storgards, has released several award-winning recordings of the music of Einojuhani Rautavaara.

About Listening CDs

Listening CDs are traditional music recordings. Listening CDs make a great educational supplement - hear exceptional professionals play the music you're learning! Or, just enjoy listening to the music you love.

  • 01-09. Rubaiyat  Composed by Einojuhani Rautavaara
  • 10. Into the Heart of Light  Composed by Einojuhani Rautavaara
  • 11. Balada  Composed by Einojuhani Rautavaara
  • 12-15. Four Songs from the Opera Rasputin  Composed by Einojuhani Rautavaara
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.