World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Complete Works for Two Pianos

By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Be the first! Write a Review

2 piano - SMP Level 10 (Advanced)
Composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791). Edited by Hans-Peter Stenzl, Volker Stenzl, and Ernst Fritz Schmid. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Barenreiter Urtext. Performance score, anthology. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA09161. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09161).

Item Number: BA.BA09161

ISBN 9790006527687. 31 x 24.3 cm inches. Preface: Manfred Hermann Schmid.

For the first time, Mozart's complete works for two pianos including fragmentary works are published together in one volume. As well as the famous Sonata in D major and the Fugue in C minor, the volume contains the fragmentary Larghetto and Allegro in E-flat major in the contemporary completion by Maximilian Stadler , rediscovered in 1963. The significance which Mozart attached to his Fugue in C minor is reflected in the fact that he arranged it for strings in 1788, when he added an introductory Adagio. This Adagio is included in the appendix of this edition in an arrangement for two pianos. A foreword in German and English by the renowned Mozart scholar Manfred Hermann Schmid discusses questions on the history and development of the works as well as on performance practice.

- Urtext of the New Mozart Edition
- Includes fragments
- With tried and tested fingerings
- Foreword (Ger/Eng) with detailed commentary on the composition of the works and tips on performance practice

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


About SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

Very advanced level, very difficult note reading, frequent time signature changes, virtuosic level technical facility needed.

  • Einleitung: Mozarts Werke fur zwei Klaviere 
  • Die Sonate KV 448 
  • Sonaten-Fragmente 
  • Die Fuge KV 426 und andere kontrapunktische Arbeiten 
  • Mozarts Instrumente 
  • Zur Edition 
  • Anmerkung zum Fingersatz 

  • Introduction: Mozart's Works for Two Pianos 
  • The Sonata K. 448 
  • Sonata Fragments 
  • The Fugue K. 426 and Other Contrapuntal Essays 
  • Mozart's Instruments 
  • Notes on the Edition 
  • Note on Fingering 

  • Faksimiles/Facsimiles 

  • Sonate KV 448 
  • Fuge KV 426 

  • Appendix I: Fragments 
  • Facsimile: First page of the Larghetto and Allegro, K. deest 

  • Larghetto und Allegro KV deest = Fr 1781f 
  • Grave und Presto KV Anh. 42 = Fr 1782b 
  • Sonatensatz KV Anh. 43 = Fr. 1782c 
  • Allegro KV Anh. 44 = Fr 1785d 
  • Fuge KV Anh. 45 = Fr 1785a 

  • Appendix II 
  • Adagio, KV 546, Arrangement for two Pianos by Michael Topel 
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.