World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Clarinet Trios B Flat Major Op. 11 and E Flat Major Op. 38
for Piano, Clarinet (or Violin) and Violoncello Sheet Music Book
By Ludwig van Beethoven

Be the first! Write a Review

Piano, Clarinet (or Violin) and Violoncello Cello; Piano; Piano Trio; Violin (Piano Trio)
For Piano, Clarinet (or Violin) and Violoncello. Composed by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827). Edited by Friedhelm Klugmann. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Pages: Score = 68 * Vl Part = 13 * Cl B Part = 14 * Vc Part = 15. Classical. Softcover. 128 pages. G. Henle #HN342. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480342).

Item Number: HL.51480342

ISBN 9790201803425. 9.25x12.25x0.425 inches.

Beethoven composed his Clarinet Trios op. 11 and 38 in 1798 and 1802-03. The op. 11 was given the nickname “Gassenhauer Trio” because its third movement is a set of variations on a theme from Joseph Weigl's opera L'amor marinaro (“Gassenhauer” means a “popular song”). Playing with many possibilities in these nine variations, Beethoven sometimes lets the piano appear alone, and sometimes has it rest. In places the mood is that of a sort of funeral march, and there are harmonic and rhythmic surprises throughout. The op. 38 “Grand Trio”, the later of the two, was a reworking by Beethoven himself of his op. 20 Septet. He provided – as also in the case of op. 11 – an alternative violin part, in order to give the work broader distribution and thus greater popularity. The violin parts are likewise included with our Urtext edition, which – just as back then – makes it doubly valuable.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

  • Clarinet trio for Piano, Clarinet (or Violin) and Violoncello, E flat major, op. 38 (Chamber music with winds)  Performed by Ludwig Van Beethoven
  • Clarinet trio for Piano, Clarinet (or Violin) and Violoncello, B flat major, op. 11 (Chamber music with winds)  Performed by Ludwig Van Beethoven

See Similar Sheet Music and Digital Downloads

Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.