String Quartet No. 1, Op. 7
String Quartet Parts
String Quartet - Sheet Music

Item Number: 22394346
3.8 out of 5 Customer Rating
In Stock
  • Ships in 24 hours
Unauthorized duplication hurts music creators. Please ensure you purchase the number of copies needed to accommodate all members of your ensemble.

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Item Types
String Quartet (Parts)

SKU: HL.51481421

String Quartet Parts. Composed by Bela Bartó and k. Edited by Lá, Somfai, and szló. Henle Music Folios. Classical. Softcover. 79 pages. G. Henle #HN1421. Published by G. Henle (HL.51481421).

UPC: 196288141556. 9.25x12.25x0.271 inches.

Béla Bartók's six string quartets, composed between 1908 and 1940, are 20th-century milestones of the genre. His First String Quartet is closely linked to his unhappy love for the violinist Stefi Geyer, to whom he sent the initial measures of its first movement in early 1908 with the remark: “My song of death.” When he completed all three movements of the work a year later, he had, according to his friend and colleague Zoltán Kodály, written himself “back into life,” In this First Quartet, Bartók combines late-Romantic sounds with elements of the folk music that had since 1905 been a source of increasing interest to him. This definitive edition, supervised by Bartók scholar László Somfai, is the first-ever Urtext edition of this work. It takes into account both manuscript and printed sources, as well as letters and notes by the composer in which he recorded matters such as modifications to tempo markings. The Henle edition thus offers a musical text edited to the highest scholarly standards, with fascinating information on the work's compositional history and performance practice. Sensible page turns and cue notes help to make this edition a real “must have.”.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)