Sonatas for Piano and Violin – Volume III
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Violin Solo - Sheet Music

Item Number: 3763407
3.7 out of 5 Customer Rating
In Stock
  • Ships in 24 hours
See more offers for this item

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Strings Piano; Violin (Violin and Piano) - Henle Level 3-6

SKU: HL.51480079

Composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Edited by Wolf-Dieter Seiffert. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. With marked and unmarked string parts. Detailed critical commentary available for download free-of-charge. ABRSM syllabus Grade: 8 -- rec. LRSM since 2005: LRSM -- ABRSM 2018 remarks: recommended -- TCL 2016 Grade: 8 -- TCL 2016 remarks: rec. 2016-2019. Classical. Softcover. 186 pages. G. Henle #HN79. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480079).

ISBN 9790201800790. UPC: 884088172848. 9.25x12.25x0.687 inches.

There is no other chamber-music genre for which Mozart produced so many works – see the sonatas and variations – than that of the duos for piano and violin. He spent a considerable amount of time with the sonatas, probing every sound and every thematic limit and combination. He also explored the possibility of pairing off the two instruments, thus creating music of pure, timeless beauty bound with dramatic power, elegance and emotional depth. Contrary to the earlier violin sonatas, which were issued in cyclical groups of four or six pieces, Mozart had all the sonatas in this volume printed as single works, perhaps a sign of the significance he assigned to them – especially to the first three. These three grandiose works all bear traits of Mozart's mature mastery. The Sonata K. 547, in turn, was designated by Mozart himself in his personal work catalogue as “little klavier sonata for beginners with a violin.” For the sake of completion and because of its popularity, the arrangement of the B flat major piano sonata K. 570 is reproduced in the Appendix, although it is in all likelihood a spurious work not written by Mozart.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

  • Mozart: Later Viennese Sonata B flat major KV 454
  • Mozart: Appendix: Later Viennese Sonata B flat major KV 570
  • Mozart: Later Viennese Sonata F major KV 547
  • Mozart: Later Viennese Sonata A major KV 526
  • Mozart: Later Viennese Sonata E flat major KV 481