Sonatas for Piano and Violin
by Johannes Brahms
Violin Solo - Sheet Music

Item Number: 3764518
4.1 out of 5 Customer Rating

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Strings Piano, Violin (Violin and Piano) - Henle Level 5-7

SKU: HL.51480194

Composed by Johannes Brahms. Edited by Hans Otto Hiekel. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Urtext edition-paper bound. Classical. Collection and set of parts (softcover). With introductory text, bowings and fingerings. 139 pages. G. Henle #HN194. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480194).

ISBN 9790201801940. UPC: 9790201801940. 9x12 inches.

Johannes Brahms began to manifest a keen interest in the genre of the violin sonata at an early age. In fall 1853 he offered the Leipzig publisher a violin sonata in a minor. The work was turned down, however, and the self-critical Brahms must have destroyed it himself later. He ultimately wrote his three major sonatas during his years of maturity: op. 78 in the summers of 1878/79, opp. 100 and 108 in the summer of 1886. The Scherzo in C minor was Brahms' contribution to the violin sonata which he composed jointly with Robert Schumann and Albert Dietrich in 1853 as a surprise gift for the violinist Joseph Joachim, and which is known under the name "F.A.E. Sonata." With its sharp contrasts between the furious Allegro and emotional Piu moderato sections, the Scherzo piece is a beloved bravura showcase.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

  • Brahms: Sonata A major op. 100
  • Brahms: Sonata d minor op. 108
  • Brahms: Sonata G major op. 78
  • Brahms: Scherzo c minor WoO 2