Six Japanese Songs
by John Craton
Soprano Voice - Sheet Music

Item Number: 17472092
5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Order On Demand
  • Ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Unauthorized duplication hurts music creators. Please ensure you purchase the number of copies needed to accommodate all members of your ensemble.

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Voice and piano Soprano voice, piano - Advanced


Composed by John Craton. Vocal music. A cycle of six atonal songs with English translations of Japanese poems. Avant-garde. Sheet music. Duration 16 minutes. Wolfhead Music #WM702. Published by Wolfhead Music (WF.WM702).

This cycle utilizes short Japanese texts translated into English. The work is composed in a near avant-garde style that is something of a departure from the composer's more typical English pastoralism. In what might be termed neo-impressionism, these works are almost onomatopoeic, representnig a form of "nature music" which seeks to capture the essence of the haiku -- short, fleeting images impressed upon the listener's consciousness.

  • Asuka (Text by: Akahito)
  • Two Butterflies (Text by: Basho)
  • Waiting (Text by: Akazome Emon)
  • Young Frogs (Text by: Buson)
  • Sadness (Text by: Imozeni)