The Piano Music of Anthony Burgess, Vol. 1
Sheet Music

Item Number: 20309183
5 out of 5 Customer Rating
This item is currently not available
Shipping to the European Union is not currently available.
You may try:
Unauthorized duplication hurts music creators. Please ensure you purchase the number of copies needed to accommodate all members of your ensemble.

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.


By Richard Casey. By Anthony Burgess. Classical. Listening CD. Published by Naxos (NX.PFCD043).

UPC: 654469439200.

The International Anthony Burgess Foundation announces World Premiere recording of previously unheard music written by the author and composer Anthony Burgess, performed by pianist Richard Casey. Manchester-born Anthony Burgess (1917-1993) was a novelist, poet, playwright, composer, linguist, translator and critic. Best known for his novel A Clockwork Orange, he was also a prolific composer and musician, writing three symphonies and more than 150 other musical works. The forthcoming Piano Music of Anthony Burgess album is to be released on the Prima Facie label, and will be celebrated with a concert and launch event on Thursday 10th December at the International Anthony Burgess Foundation, Manchester. Comprising of a suite of previously unheard and unrecorded contemporary classical work for solo piano, the Piano Music of Anthony Burgess album has been recorded on Burgess's own grand piano at the International Burgess Foundation by award-winning pianist Richard Casey. Andrew Biswell, Director of the International Anthony Burgess Foundation and Professor of Modern Literature at MMU, said: “Anthony Burgess is celebrated internationally as one of the most important novelists of the twentieth century, yet many people are unaware of his parallel career as a composer and musician. Throughout his life, Burgess composed hundreds of musical works, including symphonies, chamber music and a Broadway musical. This collection of pieces for solo piano has never been heard in public or recorded before. The new album celebrates the extraordinary musical achievement of Anthony Burgess.

About Listening CDs

Listening CDs are traditional music recordings. Listening CDs make a great educational supplement - hear exceptional professionals play the music you're learning! Or, just enjoy listening to the music you love.

  • Preludes
  • Master Coale's Pieces
  • A Scottish Rhapsody
  • Tango
  • Fuga a 4 voci
  • Berceuse pour un nouveau ne
  • Brief Suite in A
  • Nine Miniatures
  • Preludio a Fuga a tre voci
  • Friends
  • Sonatina for Anne Field
  • Ye Banks And Braes
  • Untitled
  • Hornpipe
  • Passacagalia
  • Wiegenlied