Keyboard Works, Volume 2, HWV 434-442
Second Set of 1733. Suites de Pieces pour le Clavecin
by George Frideric Handel
Harpsichord - Sheet Music

Item Number: 2431480
4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
In Stock
  • Ships in 24 hours
Unauthorized duplication hurts music creators. Please ensure you purchase the number of copies needed to accommodate all members of your ensemble.

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Piano, harpsichord - SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

SKU: BA.BA04221

Second Set of 1733. Suites de Pieces pour le Clavecin. Composed by George Frideric Handel. Edited by Peter Northway and Terence Best. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Barenreiter Urtext. Performance score, anthology. HWV 434-442. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA04221. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA04221).

ISBN 9790006446216. 31 x 24.3 cm inches.

The two collections of suites that Handel himself issued in 1720 and 1733 form the main pillars of his keyboard music. For Handel, the suite was a self-contained genre with a cyclic formal design. Thus, although indebted to the sequence of movements customary at the time, each suite in these two collections has distinctive features all of its own.

This new edition by the renowned Handel scholar Terence Best draws on Peter Northway’s ground-breaking volume of 1970. Many new discoveries have made it necessary to thoroughly revise Northway’s work. All these research findings have been incorporated in our volume along with the Urtext from the “Halle Handel Edition”.

The volume also contains an informative appendix with alternative versions and movements that Handel withdrew before publication. This comprehensive edition of the 1733 collection is rounded off with a detailed preface, thereby creating a new edition that satisfies every prerequisite for professional performances at the highest level.

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


About SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

Very advanced level, very difficult note reading, frequent time signature changes, virtuosic level technical facility needed.

  • 1. Suite B-dur HWV 434
  • 2. Chaconne G-dur mit 21 Variationen HWV 435
  • 3. Suite d-moll HWV 436
  • 4. Suite d-moll HWV 437
  • 5. Suite e-moll HWV 438
  • 6. Suite g-moll HWV 439
  • 7. Suite B-dur HWV 440
  • 8. Suite G-dur HWV 441
  • 9. Prelude et Chaconne G-dur mit 62 Variationen HWV 442