Kabuki Pieces, Op. 20
Full Orchestra - Digital Sheet Music

Item Number: 22681105
5 out of 5 Customer Rating
Price reduced from $35.99 to $34.19
Digital Download Instant Download
Unauthorized duplication hurts music creators. Please ensure you purchase the number of copies needed to accommodate all members of your ensemble.

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Item Types
Full Orchestra - Level 5 - Digital Download

SKU: A0.1373704

Composed by Chris Knapp. 21st Century,Classical,Contemporary. 52 pages. Chris Knapp #958094. Published by Chris Knapp (A0.1373704).

Kabuki pieces takes influence and inspiration from Japanese Kabuki theatre productions. In this work, the main aspects of Kabuki theatre are explored through the 'deconstructed' Orchestra. Kabuki theatre employs the principles of jo-ha-kyu which helps sets the pace for a dramatic play. Jo-ha-kyu

states that a play should start slow, get quicker and end fast. Kabuki employs this technique over a series of 5 acts, hence this composition uses 5 movements and the pace of the work as a whole speeds up as it moves through.

1. Introduction - Like with all good pieces of theatre, the first act sets the scene and establishes characters. In this compositon, the scene is set by the Cello accompanied by a selection of percussion (a characteristic trait of Kabuki theatre).

2. Battle #1 - In Kabuki theatre there are always a number of battles, these usually occur during the 2nd and 4th acts. This composition similarly mimics the chaos of a battle and features the Woodwind section.

3. Tragedy - During the 3rd act, a Tragedy or emotional event usually occurs, thus this composition hopes to mirror that with an emotional outpouring of melodic ideas introducing the Brass.

4. Battle #2 - In the 2nd battle of this work, the feature is placed more on the Xylophone who takes a solo role and sets out a frantic tune which provides the basis for a Fugue of sorts picked up by the Strings.

5. Conclusion - The conclusion to most Kabuki plays are satisfying and short, this is mirrored by the very brief conclusion to this work.

This product was created by a member of ArrangeMe, Hal Leonard's global self-publishing community of independent composers, arrangers, and songwriters. ArrangeMe allows for the publication of unique arrangements of popular titles and original compositions from a variety of voices and backgrounds. The length, difficulty, and retail pricing are determined solely by the discretion of the person who arranged or composed it.

About Digital Downloads

Digital Downloads are downloadable sheet music files that can be viewed directly on your computer, tablet or mobile device. Once you download your digital sheet music, you can view and print it at home, school, or anywhere you want to make music, and you don’t have to be connected to the internet. Just purchase, download and play!

PLEASE NOTE: Your Digital Download will have a watermark at the bottom of each page that will include your name, purchase date and number of copies purchased. You are only authorized to print the number of copies that you have purchased. You may not digitally distribute or print more copies than purchased for use (i.e., you may not print or digitally distribute individual copies to friends or students).