Fantasy and Sonata C minor K475/457
Piano Solo
by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Piano Solo - Sheet Music

Item Number: 3765957
3.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
In Stock
  • Ships in 24 hours
Unauthorized duplication hurts music creators. Please ensure you purchase the number of copies needed to accommodate all members of your ensemble.

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Piano solo (Piano solo) - SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

SKU: HL.51480345

Piano Solo. Composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Edited by Ernst Herttrich. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Revised edition with critical report. Classical. Softcover. 36 pages. G. Henle #HN345. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480345).

ISBN 9790201803456. UPC: 884088175405. 9.25x12.25x0.118 inches.

C minor is traditionally the key of drama, passion, pathos, and pain, which also applies here in Mozart's famous C Minor Sonata K. 457. He wrote it in October 1784, though what might have triggered this incredible outpouring of a “romantic” world of feeling is unknown. Half a year later, Mozart composed his C Minor Fantasy K. 475, an extraordinary work in every regard. Both of these C minor works were published together in one edition in 1785, meaning that they were intentionally linked together by their author, counter to convention. Until 1990, the autograph manuscripts of the Fantasy and Sonata in C minor were lost, and G. Henle Verlag were the first to undertake a thorough revision of the texts immediately following their re-emergence in Philadephia at that time. In many instances, corrections had to be made to the musical text as previously known, because the most important sources up to that point – the first edition, as well as an authorized dedication copy of the sonata – proved to be imprecise and erroneous. Even an “Urtext” can occasionally be improved.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

About SMP Level 10 (Advanced)

Very advanced level, very difficult note reading, frequent time signature changes, virtuosic level technical facility needed.

  • Fantasy and Sonata, C minor, KV 475/457 (Piano solo)