Brahms: At the Piano
15 Well-Known Original Pieces in Progressive Order
by Johannes Brahms
Piano Solo - Sheet Music

Item Number: 20443304
5 out of 5 Customer Rating
In Stock
  • Ships in 24 hours
Shipping to the European Union is not currently available.
You may try:
Unauthorized duplication hurts music creators. Please ensure you purchase the number of copies needed to accommodate all members of your ensemble.

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Piano (Piano solo) - L3, L4, L5, L6, L7

SKU: HL.51481814

15 Well-Known Original Pieces in Progressive Order. Composed by Johannes Brahms. Edited by Sylvia Hewig-Trö and William Scher. Sheet music. Paperbound. At the Piano. With practical comments. Classical. Softcover. 56 pages. G. Henle #HN1814. Published by G. Henle (HL.51481814).

ISBN 9790201818146. UPC: 888680699550. 9.25x12.25x0.2 inches.

Each volume in the “At the Piano” series includes original pieces by one composer. The works are arranged in progressive order of difficulty and complement one another conceptually. Each piece ranges from one to eight pages. All volumes contain fingering and practical tips on technique and interpretation. The “At the Piano” series is an ideal introduction to the world of classical piano music and is particularly suitable for piano students and for all those who are returning to the piano after a long break. The series is edited by Sylvia Hewig-Tröscher, a piano professor at the Hochschule für Musik und Theater in Munich. She has decades of experience teaching young people and adults, gives concerts and masterclasses around the world, and is a much sought-after educator. Brahm's music does not have to be difficult or melancholy – our selection here proves it. Even less advanced pianists will find playable, immediately appealing pieces amongst his works for piano. His delicate intermezzi are dreamy and soulful in mood, while our selection of his waltzes (which Brahms himself published again in simplified versions) shows his cheerful, “Austrian” side. Contents: Waltz in E Major, Op. 39, No. 5 • Waltz in B-flat Major, Op. 39, No. 8 • Waltz in D minor, Op. 39, No. 9 • Waltz in G Major, Op. 39, No. 10 • Waltz in B minor, Op. 39, No. 11 • Waltz in A Major, Op. 39, No. 15 • Intermezzo in E Major, Op. 116, No. 6 • Intermezzo in A minor, Op. 76, No. 7 • Intermezzo in B-flat Major, Op. 76, No. 4 • Intermezzo in E-flat Major, Op. 117, No. 1 • Ballad in D minor, Op. 10, No. 1 • Rhapsody in G minor, Op. 79, No. 2 • Romance in F Major, Op. 118, No. 5 • Intermezzo in C Major, Op. 119, No. 3 • Ballad in G minor, Op. 118, No. 3.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)