Go to Product Detail Page

Sonate pour violoncelle et piano

By Claude Debussy

Detailed Description

Sonate pour violoncelle et piano (Sonata for Violoncello and Piano). Composed by Claude Debussy (1862-1918). Edited by Regina Back. For cello/piano. This edition: Stapled, Urtext edition. Stapled. Urtext Edition. Playing score with critical commentary. 22/7 pages. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA9412).

ISBN 9790006532506. 31 x 24.3 cm inches.

Debussy's Sonate pour violoncelle et piano was composed in the summer of 1915. It was the first of a planned set of six sonatas for various instrumental combinations of which Debussy only completed three. Imbued with that unmistakable Debussy charm this work has remained a standard in the repertoire since the premiere. It is without question the most performed cello sonata of the 20th century.

Regina Back's Urtext edition for the first time makes use of Debussy's sketches held in a private collection which contain not only an important comment by Debussy regarding the balance of the instruments but also clarify several musical ambiguities found in the autograph and first edition.Barenreiter's new Urtext edition comes with a detailed preface (German/English/French) elaborating not only on the genesis of the composition and its first performances but also providing performance practice information. The edition is rounded off with a facsimile and a Critical Commentary (English).

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List