Go to Product Detail Page

Der Tod Jesu

By Karl Heinrich Graun

Look Der Tod Jesu
Detailed Description

Der Tod Jesu composed by Karl Heinrich Graun (1704-1759). Edited by Herbert Lolkes. For Soli SSTB, SATB Choir, 2 Flutes, 2 Oboes, 2 Bassoons, 2 Violins, Viola, Basso continuo. This edition: Paperbound. Es-Dur (E-flat major). Score available separately - see item CA.1037900. Passions; Stations of the cross (Seven Words). Vocal score. Language: German. Composed 1755. 96 pages. Duration 85 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.1037903).

With Language: German. Passions; Stations of the cross (Seven Words).

Since its first performance in Berlin in 1755, Carl Heinrich Graun's "empfindsame" (sensible) Passion Cantata "Der Tod Jesu", with a libretto by Karl Wilhelm Ramler had long been one of the most frequently performed works in this genre. Until the end of the 19th century this work was able to maintain its position in the repertoire of numerous oratorio societies and singing academies (especially the Berliner Sing-Akademie). It was often given equal billing with Bach's passions, until finally, in the second half of the 19th century Bach's works became more predominant. With the publication of the present critical new edition (the first since it was first published in 1760), "Der Tod Jesu" is once again available for sale to the musical public. This makes accessible an epoch-making work which in its time set the standard for settings of the Passion.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List