Go to Product Detail Page

Instrumental Pieces From The Henry VIII Mass - 4 Scores

By Fayrfax/Lloyd

Look Instrumental Pieces From The Henry VIII Mass - 4 Scores
Detailed Description

Instrumental Pieces From The Henry VIII Mass - 4 Scores composed by Fayrfax/Lloyd. For ATTB instruments. Miscellaneous Music. Early Music Library. 4 Scores. Published by London Pro Musica (MM.EML0318).

These unusual abstract pieces come from the Henry VIII manuscript (British Library, MS Add. 31922), though the second of the two Fayrfax pieces has a more complicated origin. In the Musica Britannica edition of the Henry VIII collection, they are described as "puzzle canons", a perfectly descriptive term which, however, I (Bernard Thomas) have not adopted, as it has not gained any currency outside England. Robert Fayrfax (1464-1521) is one of the few English composers of his generation whose music survives in any quantity. Several masses have survived, as well as motets, and a few secular pieces of a distinctively ornate nature. Although rather short, the two abstract pieces printed here contain some of that distinctive, almost improvisatory counterpoint that characterises the music of the best English church composers of this time.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List