Go to Product Detail Page

Missa Sancti Joannis Nepomuceni

By Michael Haydn

Look Missa Sancti Joannis Nepomuceni
Detailed Description

Missa Sancti Joannis Nepomuceni composed by Michael Haydn (1737-1806). Edited by Charles H. Sherman. For SATB Choir, 2 Oboes, 2 Clarinos/Trumpets, 2 Trumpets, Timpani, 2 Violins, Basso continuo, [3 Trombones colla parte]. This edition: Paperbound. C-Dur (C major). German title: Missa Sti Johannis Nepomuceni MH 182. Masses, Latin. Full score. Language: Latin. Composed 1772. MH 182. 72 pages. Duration 20 minutes. Published by Carus Verlag (CA.5031400).

With Language: Latin. Masses, Latin.

Haydn's Missa Sancti Joannis Nepomuceni, dated 21 May 1772, is dedicated to the Bohemian martyr and patron "Saint of bridges," Johannes Nepomuk (ca. 1340-1393, canonized in 1729). Despite the addition of woodwinds and brass to the three-part string section, the Mass is in a comparatively simple, compact form as was expressly required by Count Hieronymus Colloredo, Haydn's second employer in Salzburg. Even in the final sections of the Gloria and Credo Haydn forgoes not only vocal virtuosity, but also the polyphonic artifices which traditionally characterize these passages in the Mass. Like the Missa Sancti Amandi (1776), the Nepomuk Mass does not employ vocal soloists.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List