Go to Product Detail Page


By Ralph Vaughan Williams

Look Magnificat
Detailed Description

Magnificat composed by Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958). For contralto/mezzo-soprano voice solo, SA choir and orchestra/flute and piano (Large orchestra: [2, 2, english horn, 2, 2-4, 2, 0, 0], timpani, harp, celeste, 2 percussion, organ, strings [solo flute] / Small orchestra: 2 flutes, harp, celeste, and strings). Upper Voices. Contemporary, Choral Works. Level B-C (easy - moderately difficult). Vocal score. 24 pages. Duration 12'. Published by Oxford University Press (OU.9780193391543).

ISBN 9780193391543. Contemporary, Choral Works. 10 x 7 inches.

For contralto (mezzo-soprano) solo, female chorus, and flute and piano (or orchestra). This is an unusual setting of the text, in that after an ethereal opening, a contralto/mezzo-soprano soloist sings the Magnificat text while the female chorus interpolates with other texts in praise of the Virgin Mary. The contrast between the rhapsodic lines of the soloist and the more reflective emotions of the chorus result in a moving work. This version is accompanied by solo flute and piano. Orchestral material is available on hire from the publisher.

For more details go to Product Detail Page

Sorry but your review could not be submitted, please verify the form and try again.

* = required

Music List Name



Make a wish list for gifts, suggest standard repertoire, let students know which books to buy, boast about pieces you've mastered: Music Lists are as unique as the musician! Easily share your music lists with friends, students, and the world.

To create a music list, please sign in.

Existing Accounts

Sign In and Add to My Music List

New Accounts

Create Account and Add to My Music List