World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Works for Organ or Pedal Piano
Sheet Music Book
By Robert Schumann

Piano Organ
Composed by Robert Schumann. Edited by Gerhard Weinberger. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Pages: XII and 82. Classical. Softcover. 87 pages. G. Henle #HN367. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480367).

Item Number: HL.51480367

ISBN 9790201803678. 12.25x9.25x0.314 inches.

Robert Schumann revered Johann Sebastian Bach and his polyphonic style throughout his life. Thus the “Six Studies in Canonic Form” op. 56 and “Four Sketches” op. 58 for pedal piano, which are reminiscent of Bach's Inventions, were composed during a relatively short period starting in 1845. From a music history perspective, the “Six Fugues on the name BACH” op. 60 for organ or pedal piano are the first important organ compositions on the B-A-C-H theme before those by Franz Liszt and Max Reger. with his compositions for pedal piano – the Leipzig School of Music had at one time – Schumann wanted to “bring new impertus to piano music.” However, this type of piano, which was equipped with a pedal keyboard, did not find wide dissemination in the years that followed. Therefore, it is more than legitimate to play the compositions by Schumann presented in this edition on the organ. The editor is the well-known organist and professor Gerhard Weinberger.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

  • Studies for the Pedal Grand Organ, op. 56 (Organ)  Performed by Robert Schumann
  • Sketches for Pedal Piano, op. 58 (Organ)  Performed by Robert Schumann
  • 6 Fugues on the name BACH for Organ or Pedal Grand Piano, op. 60 (Organ)  Performed by Robert Schumann
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Pittsfield, MA
    Difficulty Level:
  • December 12, 2017 Schumann the melancholic

    One doesn’t think of Robert Schumann as an organist, nor a composer for the instrument, but in this edition we see that he very much is. Schumann’s Romantic style is evident throughout, and even the “exercises” or “studies” contained in this volume are not the flashy, virtuosic type...

    for the concert performer, they do make nice preludes and interludes for a church service. The melodies are great and flowing and there is a diversity in style and character that makes this a worthy purchase.

    Read More
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 5

    J. Nichols
    Jackson MS
    Difficulty Level:
  • April 22, 2012 A Standard Text

    This is a standard in the sheet music world. It is worth, every penny! The work is crisp, clean, well bound, assuring to last anyone a long time. The text is also indicating of any variances, which helps the young and old to sort out any confrontations in the music...


    Read More
    12 of 23 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.