World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Viola Concerto D Major
Viola and Piano Reduction Sheet Music Book
By Franz Anton Hoffmeister

Strings Piano Accompaniment; Viola (Viola and Piano)
Viola and Piano Reduction. Composed by Franz Anton Hoffmeister (1754-1812). Edited by Julia Ronge. Arranged by Kim Kashkashian and Klaus Schilde. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. With marked and unmarked string parts. Cadenzas and lead-ins by Robert D. Levin. ABRSM syllabus Grade: 8 -- ABRSM 2018 remarks: recommended. Classical. Softcover. 58 pages. G. Henle #HN739. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480739).

Item Number: HL.51480739

ISBN 9790201807393. 9.25x12.25x0.2 inches.

Along with the Stamitz concerto, Hoffmeister's Viola Concerto is the most important audition piece for viola players. Yet, it has been handed down in a complicated source tradition, surviving in a single contemporary manuscript covered with many layers of markings. Our piano reduction reconstructs, for the first time, the earliest textual layer in this source, thereby coming as close as possible to Hoffmeister's actual intentions. The reconstructed original is accompanied by a detailed critical commentary. Fingering and bowing marks have been added by no less a musician than Kim Kashkashian!

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Winnetka, Il
    Difficulty Level:
  • June 26, 2012 Buy another version

    This piece is a wonderful one! Great for college auditions and performances! Go violas!But this particular version is not very good, alot of the bowings are missing, some of the notes are wrong, and it's not changing clefs where it should be, confusing the soloist.A lot of...

    the tempos are wrong, saying grace eighth note, quarter note, then two eights notes should actually be just 4 eighth notes.The trills also, there are missing trills and most of the trills should have an upper modent following it with the half/quarter note.Measures are missing also.The rest is fine, the cadenza is ok, but I suggest getting another version.

    Read More
    11 of 24 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
  • 5

    Palermo, Italy
    Difficulty Level:
  • August 07, 2011 Typical Concerto for Orchestral Auditions

    Finally an Urtext edition of this famous concerto edited by Henle Verlag. This edition includes two viola parts: one completely blank from fingerings that refers directly to the manuscript, with some very little but explained modifications from the editor, and the other that is basically the same of the first...

    but with fingerings and some bowings from the famous violist Kim Kaskashan. This concert is artistically incomparable with some masterpieces of his time period, but this edition is a "must-have" for every violist that wants to play it with the awareness of his source version, free of modifications made by others.

    Read More
    20 of 36 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.