World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


The Lenten Sketches - Rehearsal Trax CD

By Joseph M. Martin

Choral (rehearsal tx)
Composed by Joseph M. Martin. Harold Flammer Easter. Cantata, Holy Week, Easter, Lent. CD. Published by Harold Flammer Music (HL.35027069).

Item Number: HL.35027069

4.75x5.5 inches.

From the composer of Song of the Shadows, Harvest of Sorrows and The Weeping Tree comes a brilliant new innovative cantata for Holy Week, The Lenten Sketches. The work is a series of tableaus illustrating the pivotal final days of Christ's earthly ministry, the triumphal entry, the last supper, the garden of Gethsemane and the crucifixion. With a performance time of approximately 30 minutes, the cantata is easily integrated into a worship event. There is a full line of support products available to help facilitate your presentation of this dramatic new work including a digital resource kit featuring art work, PowerPoint visuals, a Bible study, practice hints, interpretive movement options, plus a unique composer's commentary explaining some of the writer's perspective on the composition of the cantata. Expertly orchestrated by Brant Adams, this important work is destined to become a Lenten classic. Outstanding!

Includes: Portrait of Grace; Behold the King of Zion Comes; From an Upper Room; Scenes from Gethsemane; Tableau of Sorrow; Pieta; Epilogue. Available separately: SATB book, iPrint Orch CD-ROM, Printed Orchestration, StudioTrax CD, Listening CD, 10-Pack listening CDs, Preview Pack (Book/Listening CD), RehearsalTrax CDs, Digital Resource Kit. Duration: ca. 35:00.

  • Epilogue 
  • Scenes From Gethsemane 
  • Behold, The King Of Zion Comes 
  • From An Upper Room 
  • Pieta 
  • Tableau Of Sorrow 
  • Portrait Of Grace 
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Hollidaysburg PA
    Difficulty Level:
  • 2013-01-22 00:00:00.0 The Lenten Sketches

    We did this piece two years ago. The music itself conveys the mood of the piece, and the lyrics are compelling. It was difficult for me personally to perform, because of the intense emotions the music evoked. Haunting and beautiful, lyrical and powerful - a masterpiece.

    2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.