World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Original Compositions 2
By Wilhelm Middelschulte

Be the first! Write a Review

Composed by Wilhelm Middelschulte (1868-1943). Edited by Jürgen Sonnentheil and Hans-Dieter Meyer. This edition: urtext edition. Paperback. Wilhelm Middelschulte. Complete Organ Works II \| BARENREITER URTEXT. Performance score, anthology. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA08492. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA08492).

Item Number: BA.BA08492

ISBN 9790006528325. 30 x 23 cm inches.

Wilhelm Middelschulte (1863–1943) studied church music in Berlin . From 1891 onwards he worked as director of the organ department at the American Conservatory in Chicago and the Wisconsin Conservatory in Milwaukee .

As a virtuoso organist he had a formative impact on American organ music: even Ferruccio Busoni called him a ‘master of counterpoint’ and the greatest contrapuntal composer since J. S. Bach.

The Concerto for Organ is a masterpiece of contrapuntal inversion. The thematic material of all five movements is taken from the theme of the great Organ Fugue in E minor BWV 584/2 by Johann Sebastian Bach. The “ Canonic Fantasy” is in the form of a passacaglia, whose theme and contrapuntal inversions are taken from the BACH motif. The virtuoso “ Perpetuum mobile” for pedal solo is one of the works which Middelschulte performed most frequently.

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


  • Preface 
  • The first complete edition of the organ works of Willhelm Middelschulte 
  • Willhelm Middelschulte - A biographical appreciation 
  • The organ works 
  • Information concerning performance 
  • Photographs 
  • Willhelm Middelschulte (1908) 
  • Dedication of the new organ in Orchestra Hall, Chicago (1905) 
  • Specifications 
  • Orchestra Hall, Chicago (1904/05) 
  • St. James Roman Catholic Church, Chicago (1905) 
  • Facsimiles 
  • Perpetuum mobile (1903) 
  • Concerto for Organ on a Theme by Johann Sebastian Bach 
  • I. Prelude 
  • II. Scherzo 
  • III. Adagio 
  • IV. Intermezzo 
  • V. Finale 
  • Canonic Fantasia on BACH and Fugue on 4 Themes by Johann Sebastian Bach 
  • Andante Con Moto 
  • Introduction (Moderato molto e pensieroso 
  • Fugue on 4 Themes by Johann Sebastian Bach 
  • Perpetuum mobile 
  • Critical Report 
  • I. Abbreviations 
  • II. Editorial technique 
  • III. Sources 
  • IV. Detailed references 
  • Errata Volume 1 (BA8491) 
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.