World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Concerto for Alto-Saxophone and String Orchestra E flat major op. 109

Concerto for Alto Saxophone in E-flat Major

By Alexander Glazunov

Be the first! Write a Review

Saxophone-A, string orchestra (Sax-A, 2 Violin, Viola, Cello, Double Bass)
Concerto for Alto Saxophone in E-flat Major. Composed by Alexander Glazunov (1865-1936). Edited by Regina Back and Douglas Woodfull-Harris. This edition: urtext edition. Stapled. Barenreiter Urtext. Score. Opus 109. Duration 13 minutes. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA08732. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA08732).

Item Number: BA.BA08732

ISBN 9790006533503. 31 x 24.3 cm inches. Key: E-flat major. Text Language: German/English.

The Concerto for Alto Saxophone and Orchestra is Alexander Glazunov's last work; since its first performance in 1934 it has become part of the standard saxophone repertoire.

The sole surviving autograph manuscript is the hand-written dedication score given by Glazunov to Sigurd Rascher (Rascher was the founder and leader of the well-known and innovative Rascher Saxophone Quartet).

This score contains the original version of the work without the alterations which were made in the proofs to the orchestral score as well as the full version of the composer's cadenza which was later shortened. The autograph manuscript also contains some performance markings by Rascher.

The correspondence between Rascher and Glazunov documents the composer's thoughts on the work and his recommendations about the size of the accompanying string orchestra. Evidence from this correspondence has been integrated into this edition.

This first scholarly-critical edition of a work by Glazunov contains an informative introduction with commentaries about the history of its composition, facsimiles and a critical commentary.

The solo part includes both the complete and the shortened version of the cadenza as well as a cadenza by Rascher which the composer authorised.

- Includes the original and new solo cadenzas
- With helpful performance tips by Carina Rascher, the daughter of Sigurd Rascher
- With an Urtext solo saxophone part and a second part prepared by Carina Rascher
- Informative foreword (Ger/Eng)

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.