World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Complete Sonatas, Volume 2
K296, 376-380, 402, 403; Urtext Sheet Music Book
By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Be the first! Write a Review

2. K296, 376-380, 402, 403; Urtext. Composed by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791). Edited by Eisen. This edition: Urtext. Violin & Piano. Edition Peters. Book. Edition Peters #98-EP7579B. Published by Edition Peters (PE.EP7579B).

Item Number: PE.EP7579B

ISBN 9790577085609. English.

This complete edition of the Mozart sonatas for violin and keyboard has been researched and prepared by Cliff Eisen, one of the most distinguished Mozart scholars of our time. Professor Eisen recognizes that many of the apparent inconsistencies and idiosynchrasies of Mozart's notation are perfectly deliberate, and that the attempts in many other editions to impose uniformity upon similar phrases or musical paragraphs can be misguided. As he writes in the preface, '...the notion that the classical style represents a model of symmetry, balance and clarity is for the most part an 19th-century has little to do with Mozart's actual practice, which is based primarily on variety of both content and articulation.' So in this new edition, alternative readings found in parallel passages are preserved, rather than being sterilized by a spurious quest for conformity. Naturally all such instances are noted within the Critical Commentary. The highly individual beaming within Mozart's autographs is also respected in the new edition, as this often contributes to our aural perceptions of phrase structure and accent. Professor Eisen is conscious that there is no single 'Urtext' for this music. On the contrary, he believes that 'there is compelling evidence that Mozart's later performances of his works were characterized by changes--sometimes substantial changes--in the musical text.' It is the achievement of this edition to indicate how far this freedom of musical expression can extend, and as such it is likely to take pride of place in the collections of all those involved in the study and performance of these masterpieces.

  • Sonata in C, K 296 
  • Sonata in F, K 376 
  • Sonata in F, K 377 
  • Sonata in Bb, K 378 
  • Sonata in G, K 379 
  • Sonata in Eb, K 380 
  • Andante and Fugue, K 402 
  • Sonata in C, K 403 
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.