Piano Quartet Eb Major Op. 47
by Robert Schumann
Piano Quartet - Sheet Music

Item Number: 4636609
4.1 out of 5 Customer Rating
In Stock
  • Ships in 24 hours
See more offers for this item

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Chamber Ensemble Piano Quartet

SKU: HL.51480737

Composed by Robert Schumann. Edited by Ulrich Leisinger. Arranged by Ulrich Leisinger. Sheet Music. Paperbound. Henle Music Folios. Pages: Score = VI and 62 * Vl and VaParts = 13 ea * Vc Part = 12. Classical. Softcover. 118 pages. G. Henle #HN737. Published by G. Henle (HL.51480737).

ISBN 9790201807379. UPC: 884088178512. 9.25x12.25x0.386 inches.

“In the evening we played Robert's E-flat major Quartet for the first time... and I was once again truly delighted at this beautiful and so youthful work,” enthused Clara Schumann in 1842. In preparation for this work Schumann had studied string quartets by the Viennese Classical composers. This is why all of the parts in the quartet are treated equally, forming a splendid ensemble. Our edition has an extensive critical commentary on account of the difficult source situation. The fold-out page in the cello part was designed with music practice in mind. The piano quartet and the piano quintet op. 44, referred to as “sister works”, were both composed in Schumann's “chamber music year”. For this reason we are publishing them both in the 2006 “Schumann Year”.

About Henle Urtext

What I can expect from Henle Urtext editions:

  • error-free, reliable musical texts based on meticulous musicological research - fingerings and bowings by famous artists and pedagogues
  • preface in 3 languages with information on the genesis and history of the work 
  • Critical Commentary in 1 – 3 languages with a description and evaluation of the sources and explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions 
  • most beautiful music engraving 
  • page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them 
  • excellent print quality and binding 
  • largest Urtext catalogue world-wide 
  • longest Urtext experience (founded 1948 exclusively for "Urtext" editions)

  • Schumann: Piano Quartet E flat major op. 47