Missa in honorem Beatissimae Virginis Mariae E flat major Hob. XXII:4 'Great Organ Mass'
Grosse Orgelsolomesse
by Franz Joseph Haydn
4-Part - Sheet Music

Item Number: 4635804
3.7 out of 5 Customer Rating
Price reduced from $29.95 to $26.95
Order On Demand
  • Ships in 1 to 2 weeks
Unauthorized duplication hurts music creators. Please ensure you purchase the number of copies needed to accommodate all members of your ensemble.

Taxes/VAT calculated at checkout.

Soprano voice solo/alto voice solo/tenor voice solo/bass voice solo/SATB choir/piano (Soprano Voice Solo, Alto Voice Solo, Tenor Voice Solo, Bass Voice Solo, SATB Choir , 2 EnglHn, 2 Trp, 2 Hn, timpani, 2 V, Vo, Org) - Level 3

SKU: BA.BA04646-90

Grosse Orgelsolomesse. Composed by Franz Joseph Haydn. Edited by James Dack and Marianne Helms. Arranged by Olga Kroupova. This edition: urtext edition. Stapled. Vocal Score. Hob. XXII:4. 64 pages. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA04646-90. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA04646-90).

ISBN 9790006520589. 27 x 19 cm inches. Key: E-flat major. Text Language: Latin.

Following his"Jugendmesse"from 1749, church music played only a secondary role in Haydn's creative output. It was not until 1766 with the"Cacilienmesse"and again in 1768-69 with the"Great Organ Mass", that Haydn returned to this genre of composition. This Mass in E-flat major belongs to the same period as the"Sturm-und- Drang"symphonies.

Some of the remarkable features of this period are reflected here in the expansion of expression combined with a new very original musical language. The score also contains the traditional Viennese trumpet and timpani parts although it is extremely unlikely that they stem from Haydn. As Haydn at least tolerated these parts, the performance material contains both the original as well as the expanded versions.

  • Kyrie
  • Gloria
  • Et in terra
  • Gratias
  • Quoniam
  • Credo
  • Sanctus
  • Benedictus
  • Agnus Dei