World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Trio fur Violine, Violoncello und Klavier (nach dem Sextett in B op. 18)

in B-flat major op. 18

By Johannes Brahms

Be the first! Write a Review

Violin, cello, piano
In B-flat major op. 18. Composed by Johannes Brahms (1833-1897). Edited by Christopher Hogwood. Arranged by Theodor Kirchner. This edition: urtext edition. Stapled. Barenreiter Urtext. After the Sextet in B-flat major op. 18. Performance score, set of parts. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA09441. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09441).

Item Number: BA.BA09441

ISBN 9790006494088. 32.5 x 25.5 cm inches. Text Language: English/German. Preface: Christopher Hogwood.

In addition to Barenreiter's scholarly-critical editions of Brahms' trios, an arrangement of Brahms' String Sextet op. 18 for piano trio by his contemporary and friend Theodor Kirchner is now being published. Simrock, Brahms' publisher, issued it in 1883. Brahms responded to the arrangement of his sextet with total enthusiasm and praise for the skills of his friend Kirchner (1823-1903).
Christopher Hogwood's scholarly-critical edition includes an introduction which sheds light not just on the history of the arrangement and its validity in its own right, but also on Kirchner and his relationship to Brahms.

- A much welcomed edition to the piano trio literature
- Includes an informative introduction (Eng/Ger) and a Critical Commentary (Eng)

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- A Critical Commentary explaining all source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.