World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Trio for Violin, Horn (Viola or Violoncello) and Piano, op. 40

By Johannes Brahms

Violin, horn, viola, cello, piano
Composed by Johannes Brahms (1833-1897). Edited by Christopher Hogwood. This edition: urtext edition. Stapled. Barenreiter Urtext. Performance score, set of parts. Opus 40. Baerenreiter Verlag #BA09435. Published by Baerenreiter Verlag (BA.BA09435).

Item Number: BA.BA09435

ISBN 9790006541096. 32.5 x 25.5 cm inches. Text Language: German/English. Preface: Christopher Hogwood.

Brahms's famous Horn Trio op.40, composed in 1865 for the natural horn, is a work of considerable significance within the composer's output. Up until now the work was believed to have a strong emotional connection to the death of his mother three months earlier.
However, Christopher Hogwood draws on a newly discovered source for this Barenreiter publication, a source that has not been available for any previous edition. We now learn that Brahms wrote at least the trio movement some twelve years earlier - in 1853 - and that it was originally intended for solo piano. This piano movement is printed in the appendix.

This Urtext edition offers not only the standard instrumentation of violin, horn and piano but also the alternative scoring for violoncello or viola instead of horn. The variants found in the violoncello and viola parts are shown as ossias in the score.

The introduction (Eng/Ger) describes the compositional process, includes information on the performance and publication history of the work, and offers comments on performance practice. A critical commentary with facsimile pages of the manuscript rounds off this pioneering edition.

- Appendix with the 1853 piano version of the trio movement
- Includes alternative parts for violoncello and viola

About Barenreiter Urtext

What can I expect from a Barenreiter Urtext edition?

- A reliable musical text based on all available sources
- A description of the sources
- Information on the genesis and history of the work
- Valuable notes on performance practice
- Includes an introduction with critical commentary explaining source discrepancies and editorial decisions

- Page-turns, fold-out pages, and cues where you need them
- A well-presented layout and a user-friendly format
- Excellent print quality
- Superior paper and binding


See Similar Sheet Music and Digital Downloads

  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 4

    Great Falls, MT
    Difficulty Level:
  • January 09, 2014 Great edition, but there are misprints!

    I love Barenreiter editions, especially for Baroque music, and this edition is quite lovely, but there are a few misprints in the piano part that should not be found in an "urtext" publication! All of them are quite easy to tell they are misprints, but it is unfortunate that such...

    a pricey, scholarly "urtext" edition would not have been proofread thoroughly before publication.

    Read More
    3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.