World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


Three Suites (Cello)
By Benjamin Britten

Cello solo
Composed by Benjamin Britten (1913-1976). Masterworks; Solo; Solo Small Ensembles; String - Cello Collection. Faber Edition. Op. 72, 80 & 87. 20th Century; Masterwork. Performance score. Faber Music #12-0571509495. Published by Faber Music (AP.12-0571509495).

Item Number: AP.12-0571509495

ISBN 9780571509492. English.

This fantastic book contains three complete suites from Opus numbers 72, 80, and 87. Each suite has background information written by Benjamin Britten for a more authentic performance.

  • Canto primo: Sostenuto e largamente 
  • Fuga: Andante moderato 
  • Lamento: Lento rubato 
  • Canto secondo: Sostenuto 
  • Serenata: Allegretto (pizzicato) 
  • Marcia: Ala marcia moderato 
  • Canto terzo: Sostenuto 
  • Bordone: Moderato quasi recitativo 
  • Moto perpetuo e Canto quarto: Presto 
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Difficulty Level:
  • January 24, 2012 Great music

    Great music, indeed. Was composed by B. Britten for his friend, the cellist Rostropovich. Its based on russian folk themes. Nicely writed, full of guidelines to interpretation and there's notes about each suite. Awesome!Check it out!

    18 of 33 people found this review helpful.
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.