World's Largest Sheet Music Selection


The Well-Tempered Clavier, Part I

[paper cover]

By Johann Sebastian Bach

[paper cover]. Composed by Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). Edited by Richard Jones. Piano (Solo). Signature Series (ABRSM). Sheet Music. 168 pages. ABRSM (Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music) #9781854726544. Published by ABRSM (Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music) (A3.9781854726544).

Item Number: A3.9781854726544

ISBN 9781854726544. 9 x 12 inches.

Published within the Signature Series a series of authoritative performing editions of standard keyboard works prepared from original sources by leading scholars. Including informative introductions and performance notes. The winner of the Music Retailers Association's Standard Publication Award for 1994.

  • "24 Preludes and Fugues, BWV 846-869"  Performed by "Bach, J. S."
  • Preface 
  • Introduction to "The Well-Tempered Clavier I" 
  • Introduction to this edition 
  • Acknowledgements 
  • Preludes and Fugues 
  • Editorial Notes and Commentaries 
  • Critical Notes 
  • Prelude & Fuga 1 through 24 
  • Ratings + Reviews

  • 5

    Difficulty Level:
  • November 11, 2017 Good Value

    The notes are clear, the voices are easy to read. Fewer pages - less page turning. Tovey's notes are in the back as well as the Critical Commentaries. Ornamental realizations are given (to be adopted as required by pencilling in over the score). It is a pleasure to play from...

    these books. As good as Henle and Baerenreiter but more (Tovey's analyses) for your outlay.

    Read More
    Was this review useful? Yes No
Close X

By signing up you consent with the terms in our Privacy Policy

I am a music teacher.